Technology and the classroom yay or nay?

Technology in a classrooScreen Shot 2015-05-07 at 11.45.59 PMm has been a debate ever since technology really took over. As someone who wants to become a teacher in the future, I have to start thinking about if technology is really good for a classroom and if it is what technology will I allow into my classroom? I just got done observing at a school in Pittman and they had a Smartboard, laptops, computers, and tablets. The good thing about that technology is that they can only access certain websites to go on. William Wolff said it best.

Technology isn’t a bad resource for learning. As a teacher you have to set ground rules as to what the students can use it for and what websites they can and can’t access. Teachers now think that technology and the internet is such a horrible place for students to go. But when a lesson isn’t explained clearly or maybe a little extra help is needed, students turn to the internet. Everyone needs to understand that yes, the internet has dark places that students to visit. But not all students use technology as a bad source for learning.

When I become a teacher, I am going to embrace technology and literacy in a classroom. Technology is a great thing in a classroom that teachers should embrace. Using things like laptops and tablets in a classroom can help students to develop literacy skills by having help from those technologies for spell check and punctuation errors. I believe that it also helps students because they may not have technology in their homes. If they get to experience technology in school and not for recreation the students have a better chance of becoming more familiar with technology and also improving their literacy at the same time. Both together combines skills of students that are very important for them to learn in school.

2 thoughts on “Technology and the classroom yay or nay?

  1. You bring up some good points and I completely agree with your opinion that technology should be used in the classroom. I think that a lot of people have a negative opinion of technology, but it can also be a good thing and can be very helpful to students. Especially since they are going to need technology in college, the workplace, etc.

    Like

  2. Karissa, hearing about your observation of technology in a Pitman classroom actually scares me a little! I feel like I’m not up to par enough with my technology skills to be able to teach a student exactly how to use them on so many different devices. I think that technology in classrooms has been a very long battle, and I’m not so sure anyone will win. It’s one thing to say teachers should do something and another to assist them in practicing it. I’d imagine there’d need to be somewhat of technology interventions for all of the teachers that hadn’t learned along with technology curriculum before becoming an educator. I too think I’ll branch out and embrace technology literacy when I become a teacher, because not only do I not want to be left behind, but I wouldn’t want my students to be either!

    Like

Leave a comment