1

Tweet Tweet Tweet – Nicole Gross

I have always had a love for Twitter. I think it is incredibly cool how you can tweet at famous people directly. That was my main reason for starting a Twitter account in the first place. However, Twitter can be usimagesed for an educational purpose if you follow the right people. For module 3 in my Introduction to Writing Arts class, I think that it really opened my eyes to a whole new world of Twitter.

During this Twitter assignment, I would live tweet about reading assignments or even a story being shared in class. I enjoy live tweeting when I am able to because it is something to capture in the moment. For example, my professor shared a story about the police, which I thoroughly enjoyed so I “live tweeted” (see below).

 

If you check out my Twitter account (@nicole_gross3), you will see every time I would live tweet when my tweets start with “*live tweeting*”. Also, we had several readings to blog about for this module. Although the readings were sometimes long, they were always interesting and showed me something new. It was difficult for me to Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 4.31.25 PMlive tweet while reading because I would end up getting distracted and looking around on Twitter. I ended up embedding a few tweets in previous blogs from the Huffington Post Educational twitter account since I found them to have the most recent information open for discussion. Personally, from all of the accounts I followed in the Educational    community, @HuffPostEdu was my favorite. This accounScreen Shot 2015-04-30 at 4.33.41 PMt has some very informative tweets along with links to their article about the topic. I found myself replying to this account mainly because as a future teacher, I can relate to their articles. Unfortunately, no one ever replied to these tweets. Although that was a little discouraging, I didn’t let it stop me from tweeting to them again. Since the Huffington Post Educational is a news source for all people in the field of education, their account is following many editors of magazines and newspapers. Also, they are being followed by workers in schools such as librarians, art teachers, etc. This account tweets several times a day, each post being a relative tweet to today’s news. This account is up to date with their posts and articles. Their tweets mention what their attached article is about. I think that is smart because it hooks your followers right away. Check out the tweet below from Huffington Post Educational’s account. This particular tweet caught my attention right away because bullying is a big problem in schools, which is something I need to be aware of as a future teacher. This is one tweet I replied to, but got no response.

 

Overall, this Twitter assignment was something different, something I had never been asked to do for a class. I think that it was a great way to get yourself in your professional community. Social media is a great way to network yourself, if you network yourself with the right people.

1

Evolutionary Classroom Technology

pic_21stcentury

Technology has been a part of our world since the beginning of time. It’s in the media, health care, various workplaces, and even in education. Technology is always evolving, and now more than ever, is used to help children better succeed in their studies. As I reflect back on my early school days, I am truly amazed at how much technology has changed since then. I remember when I was in first grade I had my first experience with an apple computer. The apple computer back then (roughly 1997) was not the sleek, slick apple computers we see today, but had a small screen, and was rather clunky.

Computers also, were rarely seen in classrooms. The only room that had more computers than just one was the “Computer” room. Today, in some classrooms there is more than one computer in each room to better serve both students and teachers. Other computer necessities have changed since I was in school as well, including: floppy disks, CD’s and mice with wires. These technologies have been replaced with things such as Flash Drives, and wireless mice, as well as things like tablets and mini laptops.

overhead_102613_072606_pm  Computers are not the only technology that has changed since my school days, overhead projectors have been replaced with SMART boards and Document Viewers. Televisions are not placed on wheels and rolled aroundtv-meme from classroom to classroom anymore either, but are stationary in classrooms for convenience and better accessibility. These new and improved technologies are essential in the classroom because they allow students to participate in a higher level of thinking.

The article “What Does Teaching in the 21st Century Mean?”  (Educational Technology and Mobile Learning) explains how technology in the classroom can enhance student achievement through video. The video shows that through the use of technology, students are able to gain knowledge anytime, anywhere and through technology, comes teaching digital responsibility (Educational Technology and Mobile Learning). Technology not only benefits the students but the teachers as well. The teaching of technology allows teachers to think more critically about the tools they use to teach. Technology will also pose as a bond between the teacher and the student. If a teacher uses tools that are more relevant to students, the students will be able to grasp information better. In my personal opinion, I think that the use of technology in classrooms is an essential part of teaching. Not only does allow students to think more critically, but it also engages students better because using technology is more fun. Let’s face it, I’d rather have fun while learning, wouldn’t you?

Classroom